Governance structure

Chellaston Infant School is an academy within East Midlands Education Trust.  We share a local governing body with Chellaston Junior School  being accountable to the Trustees. Governors retain a considerable amount of delegated authority to make decisions affecting the day to day running of our schools.

Board of Trustees

The Board meet regularly and are the accountable body who determines which functions to delegate. The board has established specific committees and named trustees to deal with issues such as finance, audit, risk, education and standards, strategic development, pay, performance and HR.

The Chair of Trustees is Dr Andrew Hindmarsh, who can be contacted via the Clerk to Trustees, Elaine Aldridge at


The terms of reference/scheme of delegation and supplemental funding agreement for our school can be found in the ‘documents’ section on the Trust’s website at

The Local Governing Board (LGB)

The Local Governing Board support the vision of the Trust at a school-level and provide a monitoring role for standards specifically in relation to academic performance, quality of care and provision for the academy.  They play a support and challenge role, acting as a critical friend in ensuring the work of the academy to maintain and improve standards.  They make decisions in line with the Scheme of Delegation, delegated to it by the Trust Board.

Nick Hollis, Chair of the Governing Board can be contacted via the school office email with emails marked confidential and for the attention of N Hollis.

Business Interests Declarations for our Trustees and Local Governing Board can be viewed here: East Midlands Education Trust – Trust Information (

Follow the link to the Schools Financial Benchmarking website to review  our school finance information. Schools Financial Benchmarking

Chair of the GB/board

Nick Hollis

Appointed by Appointed by the Governing Body

From 28 September 2020

To 27 September 2024

Community Governor – Vacancy 

Ann Witheford – Community Governor

Appointed by Appointed by Trustees

From 1 September 2022

To 31 August 2024

Sarah Reader – Parent Governor

Appointed by Elected by parents of the junior school

From 24 May 2021

To 23 May 2025

Grant Chaplin – Parent Governor

Appointed by Elected by parents of the Junior School

From 24 May 2021

To 23 May 2025

Parent Governor – Vacancy 

Charlotte Whittingham – Parent Governor

Appointed by: Elected by parents of the infant school

From 9 October 2023

To 8 October 2027

Gemma McKeown – Staff Governor

Appointed by Elected by school staff at the infant school

From 31 March 2023

To 30 March 2027

Kathy Daintith – Staff Governor

Appointed by Elected by school staff at the junior school

From 1 April 2023

To 30 April 2027

Vacancy – Community Governor

Louise Costigan – Community Governor

Appointed by GB/board

From 25 September 2023

To 24 September 2027

Lisa Turner-Rowe – Head Teacher

Appointed by Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher

From 1 September 2022

Governors who have left in the last 12 months.

Lindsay Galley 31.8.2023 (Head Teacher)

Brad Ames: 31.8.2023

Ellen Hancock: 31.8.2023

Jayne Walker: 31.8.2023

Katy Adams: 31.8.2023

Charlotte Convey: 30.3.2023

Danielle Fox: 31.8.2023

Jill Ahren: 31.8.2023

Kelly Leader: 31.8.2023

Danielle Fox: 31.8.2023

Ann Witheford: 23.4.2024

Laura Busby: 20.5.2024

Denise Owusu: 20.5.2024

Ellie Cudworth: 20.5.2024